CJ

The circle of life – ** .Net – Training – MOSS **

  • Past Post

  • Vistor Locations

The XML page cannot be displayed

Posted by Clayton James on July 1, 2006

Well, after purchasing my new laptop and getting all excited with loading up all of the software I was thrown a little curve ball when trying to run a ASP.NET application using IIS 6.0.

I kept receiveing the following error “The XML page cannot be displayed ”

A name was started with an invalid character. Error processing resource ‘http://localhost/Northwind/Default.aspx’. Line 1, …

I didn’t have internet access at the time as I was on holidays¬†so I was unable to google the problem. It was working fine using Cassini (ASP.NET inbuilt webserver) but as soon as I tried to use IIS I received the¬†error.

The next day I was able to get some¬†Internet time (thank you Marg) and found a solution to the problem. Bascially I have limited it down to installing Atlas ([March CTP]….June CTP is out now)¬†before installing IIS 6.0.

There is a great article here¬†that helped me rectify the problem and really did all of the hard work so I didn’t have to.

One Response to “The XML page cannot be displayed”

  1. ostrov said

    Thank you,
    very interesting article

Leave a Reply

 
