CJ

The circle of life – ** .Net – Training – MOSS **

  • Past Post

  • Vistor Locations

My IPhone

Posted by Clayton James on October 3, 2007

Yes, I have brought an IPhone (8gb)! (Maybe one of the first in Australia)

I can be one of those people who procrastinate when purchasing technology gadgets. Gadgets become superseded very quickly and I always wonder if I should wait that extra couple of months for the new updated version. Thus, my procrastination.

However, this time is very different. I couldn’t be happier with my IPhone and consider it one of my best gadget purchases. From a usability perspective it is all class. The screen is crystal clear and using my fingers for navigation/data input is wonderful. The ticks on my list.

  • Make phone calls.
  • Sync contacts and calendar with outlook.
  • Download emails.
  • Ipod: music, videos and web casts
  • Camera. 2gb
  • Good battery life.

I do spend a bit of time travelling, so it was essential to have a device where I can watch a web cast, DNR TV/Podcast, listen to music or watch a movie.

There are also some cool features that need a mention:

  • Google maps. Find any location and car navigation. I can also assign a map location to a contact.
  • Internet. Easily the best mobile device I have used for browsing the Internet.
  • Weather forecasts.
  • YouTube. I was watching a couple of movies last night in wide screen. The screen is so clear.
  • Wide screen sensors.

I don’t mind having only 8gb storage (but time will tell). This should make sure I don’t keep forgotten crap on my phone like I do on every other storage device I own.

What makes this phone really stand out is the ability to touch your way around the phone. You see it, you touch it…simple.

The apple team should take a bow as they have put a great deal of research into navigation and functionality.

The IPhone and it is truly a pleasure to use.

4 Responses to “My IPhone”

  1. Hey CJ, What plan have you ended up on, or provider?

    I’m just interested because I would have thought if they were officially out in .au there would have been more of a fanfare 🙂

  2. You best get that polishing cloth out mate, can see smudges on the screen already 😉

    Just got myself the iPod Touch, didn’t really need the iPhone as I have a Blackberry Pearl.

    Be interesting to see what happens when Apple try to kill iPhones that have been unlocked.

  3. CJ said

    Andrew
    I am using the Telstra network, but you can connect an unlocked IPhone to any GSM network. They haven’t been released yet, I bought mine from the US.

    Jermey
    From what I have read Apple aren’t worrying about unlocked phones. I will have to wait and see. Ah…, but you now have to carry two devices…phone and ipod 😦

  4. iphone fan said

    music for your iphone http://www.seeqpod.net/iphone

Leave a Reply

 
