CJ

The circle of life – ** .Net – Training – MOSS **

  • Past Post

  • Vistor Locations

Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 & VS2008

Posted by Clayton James on November 27, 2008

I regulary run Post Build events in Visual Studio on my development machines to install assemblies into the GAC immediatley after a successful build. This save me a lot of time.

However, have been working with Windows Server 2008 and Visual Studio 2008 and couldn’t find the GacUtil.exe in the usual spots on the file system … e.g C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\SDK.

I finally found the location and it has been moved to C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\bin

So I can know put in my Post Build events like this:
“C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\bin\gacutil.exe” -u “$(TargetName)”
“C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\bin\gacutil.exe” -i “$(TargetPath)”

9 Responses to “Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 & VS2008”

  1. Great post.. thanks for sharing 😀

  2. vps viet nam…

    […]Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 & VS2008 « CJ[…]…

  3. virtual said

    virtual…

    […]Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 & VS2008 « CJ[…]…

  4. domain name provider…

    […]Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 & VS2008 « CJ[…]…

  5. My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This submit actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  6. sleep aids said

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear
    idea

  7. It is in point of fact a nice and helpful piece of information.

    I am satisfied that you simply shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  8. It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before finish I am
    reading this wonderful piece of writing to improve my know-how.

  9. […] Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 & VS2008 « CJ – Nov 27, 2008  · However, have been working with Windows Server 2008 and Visual Studio 2008 and couldn’t find the GacUtil … Where is GacUtil in Windows Server 2008 … […]

Leave a Reply

 
